Stuart Marrs on Elliott Carter
Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: Performance and Analysis

Elliott Carter's solo timpani works of the 1960s represent the benchmark upon whose quality all subsequent compositions of this genre have been measured. This DVD combines interactive, multi-angle video performance of the set of eight pieces with an in-depth voice-over performing artist's commentary as well as PDF articles about the works by percussion scholars.

Watch Stuart Marrs perform “March” from Elliott Carter's Eight Pieces:


Watch the performance with Stuart’s voice-over analysis (English):


"This DVD should be on the shelves of every percussion instructor's studio." – John Beck

Purchase your copy today!

• Languages: Voice-over artist’s commentaries in English, Spanish (click here to watch), and French (click here to watch)
• Angles: multiple camera angles for all video or pre-edited angle fades
• Overlays: shows special beating spots on overhead camera angle
• DVD@CCESS: links to sponsors, users forum, GUDMUSE
• DVD-ROM: Manuscripts, Articles, Program notes, Bio, TP9000 flyer, Permissions, Acknowledgements
• Metronomes: special customized metronomes for each metric piece of the set.

About Stuart Marrs:

As soloist, clinician, orchestral timpanist-percussionist, conductor, and teacher, Dr. Marrs' professional experience spans over 30 years and three continents. His principal orchestral positions include the orchestras of Louisville, Bolivia, and Costa Rica. His free-lance experience includes such diverse areas as TV, Ice Capades, jazz, symphonic orchestra, experimental groups, solo and chamber recital performances. Stuart Marrs has an extensive international profile having taught and performed in France, Switzerland, Belgium, Poland, Russia, Belorus, Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, El Salvador, Bolivia and Costa Rica.

Dr. Marrs is founder and past president of the Maine Chapter of the Percussive Arts Society, a driving force behind the development of percussion in the state of Maine. He has taught at the National University of Costa Rica, Indiana University, and since 1985 has been teaching at the University of Maine where he presently occupies the position of Chair of the Music Division. Stuart Marrs received his doctorate from Indiana University School of Music. Dr. Marrs tours the US, Europe, and Latin America as soloist, conductor, clinician, and teacher.

What the experts are saying about STUART MARRS ON ELLIOTT CARTER :

Percussive Notes, Vol. 44, No. 2 April 2006 (p88):
"What a unique approach to Elliot Carter's "Eight Pieces for Four Timpani"! Stuart Marrs uses his timpani expertise for an excellent performance of all eight pieces. His interpretation of the music shows insight, musicality, sensitivity, and a valid performance approach. This DVD teaches in a short time what may take a teacher hours of demonstration and explanation time. Special features are: artists' commentaries in English, Spanish and French, multiple camera angles for all video or pre-edited camera angle fades, special beating spots on overhead camera angle, and customized metronomics for each metric piece of the music. There are also links to sponsors, a users forum, manuscripts, articles, program notes, and much more. This DVD should be on the shelves of every percussion instructor's studio.
-John H. Beck

"With this DVD, Stuart Marrs provides an extremely valuable research tool for both performers and composers. The performances are elegant and refined and the DVD production is absolutely first class. I have used it in percussion seminars for composers as well as in workshops on these pieces for performers. The response has been universally positive. I highly recommend this DVD as a definitive source for information on the performance techniques for, and the interpretation of, these seminal works for solo timpani."
–Jan Williams
Prof. of Music, Emeritus
SUNY Buffalo

"This DVD is perfect for anyone interested in performing or researching Elliott Carter’s Eight Pieces for Four Timpani. Stuart Marrs offers a tremendously comprehensive insight into these works. The special features included in this DVD (multiple camera angles, commentary, customized metronomes, manuscripts, articles, and other interactive items) are terrific! Bravo!"
–John Tafoya
Principal Timpanist, National Symphony Orchestra
Director of Percussion Studies, University of Maryland